Tags

, , , ,

This Memorial Day, I Remember My Grandfather, MST SGT A. E. Cumming

My Poppy & Nana:

This post is for my Mother and me.  Her Father, my Grandfather was a really nice man. A great patriot.  It pains me in my heart that our once nice country is so disgusting now.  My Grandfather didn’t serve 32 years for America to have an illegal President, a House and Senate that are corrupt and debaucherous.  If my Grandfather saw what was happening to the Veterans at the VA hospitals, he would turn the place upside down.  My Grandfather ran the base at Westhampton Beach AFB. 

Poppy served in the military for a total of 3 decades and 2 years..Also the Merchant Marines, The US ARMY, & the USAF. He retired from the military in 1970.  He taught me how to swim.  Poppy was a wonderful, strong man of high moral character, a full blooded Scot.  My mother is 1/2 Portugee Jew and Scot.  Everyone loved my grandfather.  The only thing that was important to my Poppy was country and military, period.  Nothing else mattered to him but making sure America was free.  This is the way people were back then. Country was THE most important thing in their lives.

My Grandfather died March 3, 1973. A very sad day for my whole family.  He was so popular with NYC Italians that the whole funeral parlor was filled with flowers to the street, a parlor that was on the east end of Long Island. He was loved in his community and was a fine patriot.  

Pictured in uniform, Circa 1944:

Outside at Westhampton AFB, Circa 1964:

Pictured with military hero (WW2 figher pilot & ace of aces) & trusted friend: Colonel Gabby Gabreski, Circa 1960-68: (Not sure)

Poppy’s fav song:

Most of my family is military or civilian volunteer like me.

